who we are pic

The World Heritage office of George Town was first established in 2009 and in 2010 we became registered as a company to become George Town World Heritage Inc. which gives us the necessary locus standi within government, while letting us function as an independent body.

The team at GTWHI is made up of individuals with backgrounds in urban planning, architecture, conservation, heritage and cultural management, and education. We have a growing cohort of 15 full-time staff and work closely with a dedicated number of collaborators and volunteers.

We are governed by a Board of Directors and supported by a Consultative Panel that is made up of a broad range of Penang professionals from the various sectors related to heritage and to the management of the World Heritage Site.


Board of Directors

YAB Tuan Chow Kon Yeow
Penang Chief Minister

YB Dato' Seri Farizan bin Darus
Penang State Secretary

YB Dato' Sarul Bahiyah binti Haji Abu
Penang State Financial Officer

YB Yeoh Soon Hin
Penang State Executive Councillor for Tourism Development, Heritage, Culture and Arts  

YB Teh Lai Heng
State Assemblyman for Komtar and Political Secretary to the Penang Chief Minister

YB Wong Hon Wai
Member of Parliament for Bukit Bendera

YB Nurul Izzah binti Anwar
Member of Parliament for Permatang Pauh

YB Daniel Gooi Zi Sen
State Assemblyman for Pengkalan Kota

Dato' Ar. Yew Tung Seang
Mayor of Penang Island City Council


POWr Hit Counter